Mental Health Association of Greater Dallas
HomeAbout UsGet InvolvedMHA in the CommunityContact UsSite Map


2014 Prism Awards

                                      Purchase Tickets Online 

For over 60 years, Mental Health America of Greater Dallas (MHA) has been consistently serving the people of Dallas County and its surrounding communities.  Our mission is to lead the community in improving mental health through advocacy and education.  Our goal is to:  give a voice to people without a voice in our community, help people help themselves, and change how people think about mental illness and mental health.

MHA also realizes the importance of recognizing those outstanding individuals who have made a significant contribution to improving the mental health of our community.  For over 20 years, MHA has had the privilege of honoring these distinguished advocates and leaders by hosting a signature event, the PRISM Awards ceremony.

Mental Health America of Greater Dallas presents the 2014 Prism Awards, which pay tribute to those who have made a difference in the community on behalf of individuals with mental illness, as well as those who have worked to improve awareness of mental health issues.

The 2014 Prism Awards Ceremony will take place on Thursday, October 23, 2014 from 6:00 to 8:00 pm at the Frontiers of Flight Museum 6911 Lemmon Ave, Dallas 75209 

For sponsorship information, contact Matt Roberts at mroberts@mhadallas.orgor 214.871.2420 x109.  The sponsorship form is available for download  here.


We welcome nominations from the community for specific Prism awards.  Please download the nomination form  and return it to by June 6th.


Ruth Altshuler Award

Recognizes outstanding community service meeting the needs of persons with mental illness.  This award is named for and presented by community volunteer and philanthropist, Ruth Sharp Altshuler.

Lightner Sams Foundation Child Advocate Award

Recognizes outstanding and exemplary dedication and service to the mental health needs of children and adolescents.  This award was established in 2004 in honor of the superior support and commitment of Sue and Larry Lightner.

Pamela Blumenthal Memorial Award

Recognizes long-term commitment to quality of care and dedicated delivery of services to people with mental illnesses.  This award, presented by Beverly Blumenthal, LMSW-ACP, is dedicated to the memory of Pamela Blumenthal, Ph.D., an extraordinary and caring mental health professional who died in 1990.

Carmen Miller Michael Mental Health Advocate Award

Recognizes consistent advocacy on behalf of emotionally disturbed children, adolescents and adults with serious mental illnesses.  The award commemorates the work Carmen M. Michael, Ph. D., the first board chair and founding member of MHA. Dr. Miller has dedicated her life's work to developing a more humane and compassionate community response to children and adults with mental health needs.

Special Recognition Award

Recognizes long-term and exemplary dedication to improving the mental health of the community.


Media Award

Recognizes a commitment to improving the mental health of the community through the use of media to increase awareness and educate the public.